What is California-Harvest?

Blogs are like Amway. We all have to write one sometime, even if it tests, or strains, our friendships. And, like most Amway businesses, the majority of blogs are inconsequential. So, welcome to my Amway, I mean, blog experience.

I expect to write about things I know, and promise any readers that I will do my best to be truthful. Keep in mind, though, that one should never confuse sincerity with truth. In the end, it’s up to each of us to determine what has value.

The title of the blog is California Harvest because ultimately I am an agrarian transplant. I was raised in urban California, but grew to be an informed observer of the rural part of the state. My urban friends find the minutiae of raising food interesting, though it seems commonplace to me. I hope to inform readers of facts that will help them recognize the misrepresentations made by those who (for reasons I have trouble understanding) represent agriculture as nefarious, conniving, greedy, and rapacious.

Food production is like any other industry. It has its share of shysters and schemers, but for the most part it is just a bunch of normal people striving to make a good life for themselves using skills that are a mystery to most. We could say the same about the construction industry, computer programmers, plumbers, and Boy Scout leaders. The more we know about it the more it becomes interesting. At least that’s what I hope for.

I will also throw in general posts about other things I do. I’m as complex, simple, and unique as any other person in this world. I’m an agrarian, a businessman, a bicyclist, a Mormon, a father, a husband, an outdoorsman, and adventurer–expert in some, amateur in most. I live in California, in the United States of America, in this world, and in Fresno. I look forward to describing the world I know as I see it, including a bicycle ride or two. I hope you enjoy my perspective.

Leave a Reply

